9 settings you absolutely need to change on Google

Changing these settings allows for more secure and comfortable browsing.

Perform a security check

When we browse with Google Chrome, we are prompted to enter passwords, bank details or other personal information. Malicious people can try to get their hands on all this information through various methods. To prevent this, Google Chrome allows you to perform a security check.

Just go to Chrome’s settings and then to the “Privacy and security” section.

When you click “check now”, Chrome will check for updates, passwords that can be hacked, or potentially harmful extensions.

clean computer

Still in the Chrome settings, you can also clean up your computer. To do this, go to the “Reset and clean up” section.

By clicking “Clean computer”, Chrome will scan for possible malicious software or programs. You will then have access to a record of what has been found and you can decide whether to remove certain software or not.

Delete browsing history

The browsing history is an important source of information and provides accurate information about our various trips. Some rightly don’t want to be tracked and spied on, but luckily Chrome offers the option to delete that browsing history.

Newly created Google accounts have automatic deletion already enabled. But if your Google account is more than two years old, you have to do it manually. To do this, go to ” Activity commands ‘, scroll down the screen and tap ‘Auto Delete – Off’.

You will be able to delete your internet activity that goes back more than: 3 months, 18 months or 36 months.

Block third-party cookies

Most websites offer us to accept or reject cookies. There is, however, another type of cookie (third-party cookies) imposed on us. These third-party cookies are not linked to the website visited, but to other websites that use them to follow our various navigations on the Internet. Rather invasive as a practice.

However, it is possible to block these third-party cookies. To do this, go to the “Privacy and Security” section and then click on “Cookies and other website data”.

This allows you to block third-party cookies.

Block pop-ups

Pop-ups are often very invasive. You are quietly surfing the Internet when an advertisement or a request to subscribe to a newsletter appears. It is possible to install an extension that solves the problem, but it is also possible to go to the settings to block pop-ups. To do this, go to the “Privacy and Security” section and then to the “Site Settings” section. You will then come across “Pop-ups and Redirects”.

You will have the choice between allowing and blocking pop-ups.

Manage permissions

Often a website asks us to access various things: the microphone, the webcam, sending notifications or your location. Over the years, we no longer know what permissions we have given to which websites. This can be seen in the “Privacy and Security” section. Once in this section, go to “Site Settings”.

On the one hand, you will have access to the list of sites to which you have given certain permissions, and on the other hand, you will be able to change these permissions (block access to the webcam for this site, deny access to the microphone for this another website, etc.).

disable the notifications

The appearance of a notification can sometimes completely ruin your browsing experience. To avoid this kind of inconvenience, it is possible to disable notifications. To do this, go to the “Privacy and Security” section and then to the “Site Settings” section. Once there, click on “Notifications”.

You will have the choice between three options.

Stop apps running in the background

Even when Chrome is closed, some activities continue in the background, including being able to check for new updates. This consumes energy and can affect the battery to a certain extent and in the long term. However, these background activities can be blocked in the settings. To do this, go to the “System” category and you will then come across “Continue running applications in the background after closing Google Chrome”

Pushing the button to the left will stop apps from running in the background in Chrome.

Stop data communication from Google

For the sake of performance, Google Chrome collects a whole range of information about your browsing and identifies errors in order to correct them. However, you are not obliged to allow Google to collect information about you and incorporate it into reports. To prevent this, go to the “Google and You” section, then to the “Google Services/Synchronization” section. You will then encounter a whole series of authorization requests from Google: “automatically sends usage statistics and error reports to Google”, “sends the URLs of the pages you visit to Google” or even “to correct spelling errors, Chrome sends the text you type in the browser to Google”.

So many intrusive practices that can now be blocked.

_
Follow Geeko further Facebook, Youtube and instagram so you don’t miss news, tests and tips.

Leave a Comment