a new trick to put your private browsing tabs out of sight

Google is tightening private browsing security in the Android version of Chrome. The browser will now be able to ask you for authentication to display the content of tabs opened in private browsing after closing the browser.

Contrary to what you may imagine, Google does not always offer the same privileges to its applications on Android and iOS. One of the latest additions to the Android version of Chromium illustrates this perfectly. The Mountain View company is in the process of deploying a security option already present on several Google applications for iOS since… 2020!

The Californian company plans to offer the Android version of Chrome a new option to secure tabs opened in private browsing. To do this, Google has finally decided to add an option allowing you to automatically lock incognito tabs as soon as the browser is closed. Thus, by reopening Chrome on your smartphone, you will have to authenticate yourself with the system used to unlock the screen of the device in order to be able to view the content of these tabs.

The option, which is not yet deployed to all users, can be activated manually via a flag offered in the experimental functions panel of the browser. All you have to do is go to the address chrome://flags/#incognito-reauthentication-for-android activate the module Enable Device Reauthentication for incognitoand restart Chrome.

© 01net.com

Once in place, a new option in the Settings of Chrome, within the menu Privacy and security, is displayed. It is referenced under the title Lock incognito tabs when you quit Chrome. Depending on the system you use to unlock your screen (facial recognition, PIN code, fingerprint sensor), you will have to submit to it to allow Chrome to authenticate you in order to display the content of these tabs.

Source :

9to5Google

Leave a Comment